Awards for your best work in 2014

Published on
January 14, 2015

2014 may be over but awards season is just getting started. It's time to submit your strongest clips and have your work honored.

Below you’ll find a list of awards given by professional associations and foundations with details on what you need to enter, what the award consists of and – of course – the deadlines.

Note that the deadline to submit an entry for the Award of Excellence in Health Care Journalism is coming up fast. It’s this Friday at 1 p.m. ET.

Many of these awards have been around for some time, but I want to highlight some awards given by Associated Press Media Editors.

This year they have introduced an award category for community engagement. They’ll be giving it to news organizations that “best demonstrate the ability to provide effective dialogue with their communities and/or seek partnerships that sustain the dialogue and encourages more community dialogue.”

They have other interesting categories, like “Innovator of the Year”, “Best Mobile Platform” and “First Amendment Award.”

Best of luck and be sure share news of any awards or honors you receive.

Awards for Excellence in Health Care Journalism, Association of Health Care Journalists
Eligibility: Work published in 2014 on a wide range of health topics including public health, consumer health, medical research, the business of health care and health ethics, entry fee $30-$75
Award: Cash prize of $500 for first place winners in twelve categories, a framed certificate and complimentary lodging for two nights and registration for the annual AHCJ conference
Deadline: Jan. 16, 2015 @1 p.m. ET
From the Website: "The contest was created by journalists for journalists and is not influenced or funded by commercial or special-interest groups."

2015 Hillman Prizes
Eligibility: Public interest journalism (including newspaper, broadcast, web, books and opinion) published in 2014 in the United States with impact on social justice or public policy
Award: $5,000 plus a certificate and travel to NYC for awards reception
Deadline: Jan. 30, 2015
From the Website: "Since 1950, the Sidney Hillman Foundation has honored journalists, writers and public figures who pursue social justice and public policy for the common good."

National Institute for Health Care Management Awards
Eligibility: Work published in 2014 that improves understanding of health care and the impact of health care policy; no entry fee
Award: $10,000 awards for digital, print and broadcast journalism.
Deadline: Feb. 18, 2015
From the Website: "Advances in health policy find their foundation in academic research and are achieved through public discourse facilitated by the media. To recognize the critical role both the research and journalism communities play in the health care system, each year NIHCM Foundation presents awards for outstanding work in health care research and journalism."

Dart Award for Excellence in Coverage of Trauma
Eligibility: Work published in North America on the impact of violence, crime disaster and other traumatic events on individuals, families and communities.
Award: $5,000; travel and hotel expenses to attend award ceremony in New York, New York.
Deadline: Jan. 30, 2015
From the Website: "Entries should focus on the experience of victims and survivors as well as contribute to public understanding of trauma-related issues."

Science in Society Journalism Awards, National Association of Science Writers
Eligibility: Any writer (or team) is eligible to submit one entry in each category: books, commentary or opinion, science reporting, and science reporting for a local or regional audience. Published in 2014; no entry fee or membership required.
Award: $2,500; travel expenses to award ceremony reimbursed.
Deadline: Feb. 1, 2015
From the Website: "NASW established the science in society awards to provide recognition-without subsidy from any professional or commercial interest-for investigative or interpretive reporting about the sciences and their impact on society. NASW especially encourages entries of critical, probing pieces that would not receive an award from an interest group. beginning with the first award in 1972, previous winners have demonstrated innovative reporting that goes well beyond the science itself and into the ethical problems and social implications. A committee of accomplished peers judges the entries each year. "

Society of Professional Journalists Sigma Delta Chi Awards
Eligibility: Work published by U.S. media outlets in 2014, Entry fee $60-120
Deadline: Feb. 6, 2015
From the Website: "The Sigma Delta Chi Awards date back to 1932, when the Society first honored six individuals for contributions to journalism. The current program began in 1939, when the organization awarded the first Distinguished Service Awards. These awards later became the Sigma Delta Chi Awards."

Society of Professional Journalists New America Award
Eligibility: Work that explores and exposes an issue of importance to immigrant or ethnic communities living in the United States published in 2014. Entry fee $25-40.
Deadline: Feb. 13, 2015 @5 p.m. ET
From the Website: "SPJ welcomes entries from media outlets, journalists, community and issue advocacy groups, individuals and others concerned with ethnic issues."

Associated Press Media Editors awards for community engagement, journalism innovation, digital storytelling and advancing the First Amendment
Eligibility: Requirements differ for each award, but all focus on innovation in the production and delivery of news. This is the first time an award for community engagement is given. It will be give to news organizations that best demonstrate the ability to provide “effective dialogue with their communities and/or seek partnerships that sustain the dialogue and encourage more community dialog.” The community engagement award does not include a cash prize, though most other awards by APME do. 
Deadline: Feb. 27, 2015

Robert F. Kennedy 2015 Book and Journalism Awards
Eligibility: Book or journalism (including photography, editorial cartoon and new media)on human rights, social justice and “the power of individual action” published in 2014. Entry fee $75.
Award: $1,000
Deadline: Feb. 2, 2015
From the Website: "The Robert F. Kennedy Journalism Awards honor those who report on issues that reflect Robert F. Kennedy's concerns including human rights, social justice, and the power of individual action in the United States and around the world.”